Nolan’s “Fierce Gardeners” – The Year In Review Part One

As the developer of the Project Sweet Tomato Program, I look back at this year’s effort now and can see that it was able to accomplice most of the things that I wanted it to do.

I believe I can fly!

 

I was hoping to create a program that at the least gave a group of kids something positive to do over the summer months and instill a sense of pride in what they could accomplish as individuals and as a group.  And I wanted them all to have fun in the process!

I can believe I can touch the sky!

 

I wanted the kids to learn how to be receptive to adult supervision “outside the classroom” of their homes and schools.

I think about it every night and day,

 

I wanted the kids to learn how to think independently and individually, so that they had some control over their hopes and dreams.

Spread my wings and fly away!

 

I hoped that in some small way that the garden program would show them that through hard work they could achieve whatever that they wanted in life.

I believe I can soar,

 

That no door was ever closed to them, if they believed in themselves and made an effort to have the right people beside them.

I see me running through that open door

 

That people could care for them unconditionally.  That there were people that believed that no matter what had happened to them in their past life, it, the past was not going to be allowed to hold them back.  It was not going to be a factor as to how they were treated today…right now.

I can fly!

 

That there were people that were there to push them…encourage them do better at home, in school and the community.

I can fly!

 

That there were people that were there to teach them…help them do better at home, in school and the community.

I can fly!

 

That a program like Project Sweet Tomato, which was created to help them build positive values…positive beliefs…positive social disciplines that as children they could carry into adulthood and use for the rest of their lives,  could accomplish its modest yet important goals.

I can see it, then I can be it

If I just believe it, there’s nothing to it!

 

And I believe that I got out of the program what I put into the program…a chance to feel and believe just like them…

 

Hey, if I can just spread my wings

I can fly

I can fly

If I just spread my wings

I CAN FLY!

 

Now you know what I got out of the program thanks to the coordinator, Bonnie Odom-Brown; the sponsor, Maura Ryan-Kaiser/Snelling Staffing Services; and most of all the students of Nolan Elementary-Middle School’s “Fierce Gardeners”!  Coming soon in the next installments, we will hear from everybody to learn what they got out of the experience.

 

If you or your business would like to join in all of the fun as a sponsor or a volunteer, please contact Arthur Littsey/Nine Below Zero.media at (313) 369-1710 or littsey.arthur@sbcglobal.net

 

“I Believe I Can Fly” written by R. Kelly

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Nancy Bowman said,

    Where there is faith and hope there is love…Your Mother did a wonderful job…look at her creation KNOWING what it will take to change the world from the beginning…everything you said is EXACTLY what children NEED..they have been in fear living like they were doomed from the beginning of their time…too bad there aren’t more people in the world (especially cities like Detroit) like you..and there you are spreading the message…I think you’re GREAT!!

    Nancy

  2. 3

    […] Nolan’s “Fierce Gardeners” – The Year In Review Part One (beculturallyexposed.wordpress.com) […]

  3. 4

    […] Nolan’s “Fierce Gardeners” – The Year In Review Part One (beculturallyexposed.wordpress.com) […]

  4. 5

    […] Nolan’s “Fierce Gardeners” – The Year In Review Part One (beculturallyexposed.wordpress.com) Share this:Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  5. 6

    […] Nolan’s “Fierce Gardeners” – The Year In Review Part One (beculturallyexposed.wordpress.com) Share this:Like this:Like2 bloggers like this. […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

